This may be the most simple post I’ve written so far. It is, however, and in my opinion, not simple-minded. And out of fear–yes, fear–of losing even more oh-so tolerant friends, I’m not linking this to Facebook or other social networks.

Today, my home state got the necessary votes to pass a same-sex marriage act. While I find that this is a victory inequality, I remain entirely confused and conflicted by the importance placed on this issue.

On one hand, a legal inequality is about to be righted, and that’s a very good thing. If the state recognizes legal rights of one group, but not another, that is an inequality. Allowing a man and a woman to marry, while not allowing a man and man or woman and woman to marry, and not granting the same legal benefits and tax breaks, is discriminatory.

On the other hand, marriages, and in my Catholic view, are in the eyes of God. They are between a man and a woman. Pure and simple. Gay and lesbian marriages, while no doubt loving, are in defiance to one of God’s most blessed sacraments. In that sense, I don’t accept gay marriages as being real marriages; they’re only real in the legal sense, which, as I’ve stated, I support. But an actual marriage? No. (And frankly I would defy any straight person who hears one of their gay friends refer to his or her partner as their “wife” or “husband” and doesn’t feel a tinge of moral bullshit flow through them, isn’t being honest with themselves.That, or maybe they’re gay/lesbian, too.)

Finally, on the not-so superfluous final hand, with all the dire financial, unemployment, budget and entitlement issues that face our legislators, I’m astounded by the amount of time spent by our legislators and media on this rather mundane, easily solved and unimportant issue. I mean, really, this is the defining moment of our time? No, it’s not. Not even close. Yet people are sure acting this way. I don’t get it. Really, I don’t.

So here I am, stuck trying to find a sentence or two that summarizes my view on this issue. And I’ll I’m left with are the immortal and sage words of Forrest Gump, “And that’s all I have to say about that.”

